Flag Football Soup-A-Stars

Whenever I tell someone I play flag football, they are a bit shocked. I am lanky and awkward and clumsy and uncoordinated. But I love team sports.

17879988_10105001999744428_7606315039586851364_o

My Soup-a-Star Team!

Team sports has the magic of bringing people together you would never think to bring together. To be honest, I am unsure if my teammates and I would be friends if we have met outside the context of our team. I am super nerdy, and my teammates are super cool. The majority of them are younger, party harder, and hipper than me (You know how hip a person if if they still use the word “hip”.).

However, whenever we are on the field, we have each other’s backs no matter what. Our mission is to work together to win the game (and have fun, of course!). This involves communicating and pushing our egos aside to kick some butt. And what’s best is that I feel like we genuinely respect each other. We are all part of one team and never blame each other for losses (although we are often harsh on ourselves). I never felt like a weaker player because of my gender and actually get passed the ball, despite my occasionally slippery hands.

Although we came in second place this season and last season in our league, it was an extremely rewarding experience. My teammates, without a doubt, are some of the most amazing, most talented, and kindest people I have ever met. Thank you, Super Stars! I actually felt a bit sad that I wasn’t out of the sand, running around with them the last two weekends. We were complete strangers last year and somehow we all came together to become a solid team.

17862001_1663231630372881_5929781548755238972_n

Team Huddle

But don’t you worry! We’re coming after the championship next season! Watch out!

Leave a Reply

